Six Years Later

I have also benefited from the top-notch medical system in the Puget Sound region. Without it, I might not be walking, and my daughter would have a different face. But like Jennie, I am also concerned at America’s often cavalier attitude towards maintaining its health system (and infrastructure in general), allowing quick profits for private interests to take precedence over the greater good. I am incredibly grateful for the privilege of taking excellent surgical outcomes for granted. But in a great nation, quality healthcare would be a right, not a privilege.

WYS Words

Today is the sixth anniversary of my husband Tony’s sudden cardiac arrest. It was six years ago that he nearly died (well, technically did die) and was saved by the incredible work of Seattle’s firefighters and Medic One trained paramedics, along with the doctors and staff at the University of Washington Medical Center who valiantly continued the work begun in the field, including putting him in a medically induced coma, chilling his body (aka Therapeutic Hypothermia) to preserve brain function, and finally after 4 days that seemed to last forever, bring him out of that coma and back to me. If you’d like to read about (or re-live) some of that time, I recently rediscovered the blog that I had created at the time to share Tony’s progress. (side note: I LOVE the Internet because I had actually totally forgotten I had created it!)

As time goes by, I grow…

View original post 930 more words

Leave a Reply

